Thursday, February 13, 2014

Updated Federally Recognized Tribes List Published

February, 10, 2014.

Gale Courey Toensing, of Indian Country Today, has written a short informative article about the importance and purpose of the Federally Recognized Indian Tribes List.

"The list includes the 566 American Indian and Alaska Native tribal entities – nations, tribes, bands, communities, Pueblos, and villages – that are acknowledged to have:
-- The immunities and privileges available to federally recognized tribes by virtue of their government-to-government relationship with the United States,
-- The responsibilities, powers, limitations and obligations of such tribes, and
-- Are recognized and eligible for funding and services from the BIA by virtue of their status as Indian tribes."

For the full article, click here.
To view the updated Federally Recognized Indian Tribes List, click here.

For more information about the policy for recognizing Indian Tribes by the U.S. Government, visit the Library of Congress' page here.
Post a Comment