Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Oklahoma Historical Society American Indian Records

Oklahoma Historical Society American Indian Records

"The American Indian Archives consists of federal Indian records placed in the society's custody in 1934 by act of Congress. Containing over 3.5 million documents and some 6,000 plus volumes, it represents 66 of the 67 tribes that either were relocated to Oklahoma by forced removal, or who are native to the state.

Most principal of the collection will be the records of the Five Civilized Tribes. These records of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole date from circa 1856 to 1906. The national records of these tribes contain primary documentation of the executive, legislative and judicial branches as well as district and county records. Extensive information about agriculture, census, citizenship, education, Indian-white relations, law enforcement and a variety of aspects of life in Indian Territory can be found in these documents.

A significant portion of the American Indian Archives are federal records of the various Indian agencies established to administer reservation activities among the tribes relocated to the territory during the nineteenth century. These records span the period from the 1860s to 1933. Agencies and tribes included in this group are: Cheyenne and Arapaho; Kiowa (Apache, Comanche, Kiowa, Wichita, Waco, Tawkoni, Caddo, Kichai and Delaware); Pawnee (Pawnee, Ponca, Nez Perce, Ottawa, Confederated Peoria, Quapaw, Seneca, Eastern Shawnee and Wyandot); Sac and Fox-Shawnee (Ioway, Mexican Kickapoo, Citizen Band Potawatomi, Sac, Fox, and Absentee Shawnee).

Also included are records of the Indian schools established in Indian Territory such as Chilocco and Mekusukey Academy. "

  • Series 1: Cherokee Nation Records. 
  • Series 2: Chickasaw Nation Records. 
  • Series 3: Choctaw Nation Records. 
  • Series 4: Creek Nation Records.
  • Series 5: Seminole Nation Records.
  • Series 6: Dawes Commission Records.
  • Series 7: Cheyenne and Arapaho Nation Records.
  • Series 8: Chilocco Indian School Records.
  • Series 9: Kiowa, Comanche, Apache Nation Records.
  • Series 10: Pawnee, Ponca, Otoe, and Mussouria Agency Records.
  • Series 11: Quapaw Nation Records.
  • Series 12: Sac and Fox & Shawnee Nation Records.
  • Series 13: Maps. 1860-1930
    • Cherokee Nation 
    • Chickasaw Nation 
    • Choctaw Nation
    • Creek Nation
    • Seminole Nation
    • Dawes Commission Maps
    • Cheyenne and Arapaho Nation
    • Chilocco Indian School Records
    • Kiowa, Comanche, Apache Nation
    • Pawnee Nation
    • Quapaw Nation
    • Sac and Fox & Shawnee Nation
    • Indian Territory 1860-1930
    • Otoe and Missouri
    • Government Reports

  • History of the Dawes Commission
  • "Officially known as The Final Rolls of the Citizens and Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory, the Dawes Rolls list individuals who chose to enroll and were approved for membership in the Five Civilized Tribes (Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole.) Enrollment for the Dawes Rolls began in 1898 and ended in 1906."
  • Index to the 1896 Applications for Enrollment

No comments: